Sunday, 24 March 2013

Seven Impale - Beginning/Relieve

Hailing from Bergen, Norway, you may be forgiven for thinking that with a name like "Seven Impale", that I have become a convert to grunting death metal. Not a bit of it, this new band produce a rather nice amalgam of heavy post-prog with a singer who in contrast has a delightfully fragile voice. Fans of the likes of The Tea Club and inFictions should dig this.

Beginning/Relieve is their debut EP, out on Karisma Records next month, and a nicely varied menu of modern post-prog it is too, ranging from the epic space-jazz tile track, to the almost Wire like angularity of the opener. OK, Wire were never that heavy, but there's something of them in there, I'm sure.

Not afraid to tackle grand arrangements, as Blind To All and the title track (see link above) testify, as well as modern heavy prog and melancholic ballads, this band show no little promise, and their first album which is currently under construction is awaited with anticipation.


1. Mind Riot (1:21)
2. Blind to All (6:50)
3. Beginning/Relieve (6:28)
4. Measure 15 (3:27)
5. What Am I Sane For? (6:47) 

Total running time 24:53

Line up:

Stian Økland - vocals and guitars
Fredrik Mekki Widerøe - drums
Benjamin Mekki Widerøe - sax
Tormod Fosso - bass
Erlend Vottvik Olsen - guitar
Håkon Vinje - keyboards.

This download only EP is out on 5th April - get it from Karisma Records

No comments:

Post a Comment

2019, the insanity grows...

Odd title for an annual music review, but them's the times. With these words I aim to provide you with an escape from the creeping madne...